Food for Thought: Blog 5

moms
(C) Pinterest 

If all else fails, consult mom.

This blog post is a nod to my momma.

Every time I hit a road block in life, my mom never really pushes me to divulge. Instead, she is like the silent, all-knowing wise one who offers comfort in the form of wacky advice. For example, if she sees me with a “doom and gloom” look on my face she will mostly likely say: “You know Rochelle, you gotta dance with the music if you are ever going to succeed.” (I’m not the best dancer.) Enough said. But like a good mother, she is always there, nudging me to keep going forward.

You can say that my biggest motivation for wanting to be healthier is because of her. She is the strongest, most resilient person in my life. Her strength is immeasurable, not because she is perfect but because she overcame so much and still continues to do so. She never gave up, no matter what life threw at her. These days, my mother is enjoying her well-deserved retirement. I often wonder how the heck did she do it all these years? I always say it takes a special kind of person to become a nurse. You truly have to give so much of yourself and your life to care for others. Patience, understanding, compassion, kindness, sincerity, selflessness, strong work ethic- all qualities of a great nurse. That is why she was the perfect candidate. Looking back, I don’t think my mom ever did anything for herself. She was always so busy caring for other people. When she wasn’t at work, she was at home wrangling 4 kids, helping to sponsor extended family or sending care packages back home to the Philippines.

My mother grew up in poverty, she was one of those children selling cigarettes and vegetables on the side of the road. Her family helped pay for her studies and she was able to go to university for nursing. She became pregnant after graduating, received help from the church and sadly had to leave her firstborn behind with family. She then traveled abroad to work as a nurse in Newfoundland, Canada before eventually settling in Ontario. She lived away from home, away from her former life, her son and her only family. She worked hard so she could have a better life for herself and for her family back home. The rest is a beautiful story of challenges, struggles, triumphs, celebration, faith, perseverance, good times and bad.

So yes, my mom motivates me to stay healthy with the simple rule of “Please take care of yourself. Whatever you need to do, just do it. But please, take care.” I love and appreciate my mom so much more now, because I see that it was her strength which got us through life’s ups and downs. She is the pillar in our family and in my life. She pushes me to never give up. To stand up for what’s right. And to strive for my very best. So thank-you mom for always motivating me to be strong. I may not always succeed, but it is you (mom) who reminds me to keep going. To do it not only for myself, but for my family and especially for my own daughter.

Good Health is WEALTH. No matter what your goals are in life, you can only get there through a strong heart, mind and body. Take care of yourself first and the rest will come.

Grn.Foodie 💚 Eat well. Be well!

I read an article by: Chelsea Berler from the Huffington Post and she offers some quick tips on staying healthy for those with a busy lifestyle:

Quick Tips for staying healthy

  1. Eat Breakfast – Again, I think of my mom who would always remind me to never skip meals, especially breakfast. Oatmeal (overnight oats) and hard boiled eggs (cooked the night before) are my staples.
  2. Quit the Coffee – Find other ways to boost your energy. Cold Pressed green juice is my go-to.
  3. Stay Hydrated – Drink lots of water. Many offices and schools are equipped with filtered water stations. Bring your own bottle and fill up throughout the day. Make your own fruit infused water for extra flavor and nutrition.
  4. Snack throughout the day – Nuts, fruit, veggies, healthy dips, smoothies, protein and energy bars are all great options.
  5. Take time out for yourself– take a break to recharge and to be alone. Quiet time is always a good thing and will allow yourself to refocus.

(Berler, 2014)

References

Berler, C. (2014, November 5). Staying Healthy With a Crazy Busy Lifestyle. Retrieved http://www.huffingtonpost.com/chelsea-berler/staying-healthy-with-a-cr_b_6101956.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

