Food for Thought: Blog 2

The “Clarity” smoothie…

Today’s blog post is inspired by the word: Clarity and the superfood that is MACA Powder.

This is only my second “real” blog post and I’m already behind on what I intended it to be. Life has been extremely hectic with child, family, school studies and just trying to maintain some form of sanity as I tackle life. At any rate, as one of my professors said: “Just remember that tomorrow will be better!

For any busy person, your brain is probably processing a million things at once. Prioritizing, communicating, listening, studying, analyzing, managing, delegating, parenting, multitasking and the list can go on and on. And when life suddenly gets stressful (as it often does), mental clarity becomes foggy.  For me, life as just a mom and student is stressful enough. I am still learning to take it one day at a time and to accept that I can only be in control of myself. With that said, I’m so grateful for “me” days. With an empty abode, I can be alone to get much needed clarity. A day to re-energize, gain mental focus and to just breathe. Of course, a day would not be complete without a healthy smoothie (much more enjoyable without a clingy toddler attached to my hip, no offence Addy👧🏻❤️)

“Banana Maca Smoothie”

Clarity Maca Smoothie
(C) Grn.Foodie Amazingly comforting Maca smoothie. Recipe for Banana Maca Smoothie

The recipe for this smoothie  can be found here: Homespun Capers 

I have to say I was kind of skeptical. I detest powders of any kind in my smoothies. For some reason, all I can ever taste is grit. This one however, is absolutely comforting, filling and perfect for breakfast or a snack. I slightly changed the recipe and added a small handful of spinach and about 2 tablespoons of oats.

So what’s so *great* about Maca you ask? According to Dr. Edward Group:

“Indigenous people of the Andes have consumed maca root (commonly referred to as Peruvian ginseng) for centuries, calling upon this superfood as a natural remedy for a diverse range of conditions.” (Group,  2014)

Here are the top benefits of Maca (Nutriliving, n.d.) :

  • Anti-anxiety
  • balancing mood and brain health
  • cancer-fighting
  • cruciferous
  • endocrine system
  • energy
  • nutrition
  • reducing stress
  • strength
  • hormone balancing
  • antioxidant

Maca_infographic_New
Read more at:  (C) nutriliving

So the moral of the story: At times of stress, don’t forget about YOU. Get some clarity and re-group. Do not forget to eat properly (thanks MOM) and to be kind to yourself. Treat your body well and it will do it’s job. Stay healthy and fuel your brain with wholesome foods.

Grn.Foodie 💚 Eat well. Be well!

 

References:

Group, E. (2014, July 25). 7 Benefits of Maca Root for Women. Retrieved from https://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/7-benefits-of-maca-root-for-women/

Homespun Capers. (2015, December 15). PEANUT BUTTER AND BANANA POWER SMOOTHIE WITH MACA. Retrieved from http://homespuncapers.com/2015/12/12/peanut-butter-and-banana-power-smoothie-with-maca/

Nutriliving. (n.d.). Top 5 Benefits of Maca. Retrieved from https://www.nutriliving.com/infographics/top-5-benefits-maca

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

